Posted by: saccharineseduction | November 6, 2009

Favorite Brand Name, Easy-to-Bake “Easy Cookie Bars”

I present to you the ultimate in badness – it’s bad for your heart, bad for your hips,  and so badly delicious. What’s great about these Easy Cookie Bars is that they take under 15 minutes to prepare, are versatile, cheap, simple, and addictive.

I’ve already marked off several recipes in this Easy-to-Bake Cookbook, and I think you’ll do the same.

Here’s the recipe for Easy Cookie Bars:

1/2 cup butter or margarine, melted
1.5 cups Honey Maid Graham Cracker Crumbs
1 1/3 cups Baker’s Angel Flake Coconut
1 cup Baker’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks
1 cup chopped nuts
1 can (14 oz.) sweetened condensed milk.

Here’s what you do:

1) Heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 13×9-inch baking pan with foil; grease foil (I used extra butter, but a flavorless oil or baking spray would work well here too. If you have a glass baking pan, lower the temperature to 325 degrees.

 2) Mix butter and graham cracker crumbs in medium bowl.  Press into prepared pan. 

easycookiebars 001
I didn’t have graham crackers, so I used Townhouse crackers. They worked perfectly.

3) Sprinkle with coconut, chocolate chunks, and nuts.

easycookiebars 002 
Ready to be covered in a sea of condensed milk.

4) Pour condensed milk over top.

easycookiebars 003 
I used “Leche Condensada,” which had a touch of trans fat. Try to find one without, otherwise, you’re still young!

5) Bake 25-30 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool in pan on wire rack.  Lift out of pan onto cutting board. Makes 3 dozen. 

easycookiebars 004
All done! If you are impatient like me, dig in with a spoon while it’s still bubbling hot!!

And there you have it.  I live in a family of five, but I kid you not this was gone the next morning (and I made it late at night!).  Try using other substitutions for graham crackers, such as any kind of cookie crumbs or pretzels. Also try varying the toppings.  With Halloween on the horizon you could use a combo of butterscotch chips, pecans, and pumpkin spice. Get creative!! And buy the book!


Leave a comment

Categories