Posted by: saccharineseduction | October 20, 2009

Ghoulish Goodies’ Cup of Worms for Halloween

While Christmas is my favorite materially-based holiday, the winner might just be Halloween for its aura, meaning, and overall sense of fun and anarchy.

As a result, I’ve been busily scrounging the depths of every holiday cookbook to find cool recipes that evoke the spirit of Hallowe’en.  This recipe – Cup O’ Worms – is by far the easiest and creepiest, and it’s from The Ghoulish Goodies cookbook by Sharon Bowers.  Perfect for the poor college student who has no oven and only some milk, a spoon, and bowls at their disposal. 

Here’s the recipe.  It serves 8 normal people (and 4 people like me.)

Ingredients:

2 3.5 oz boxes instant chocolate pudding mix
4 cups milk
24 chocolate wafers or 12 Oreos
Gummy Worms
Cocoa Powder

Procedure:

1) Prepare the pudding and milk according to the package directions.
2) Place cookies in heavy zip lock bag, and crush with a rolling pin or wine bottle (for you college boozehounds.)
3) Coat worms with cocoa powder (I totally forgot this step.)
4) Layer 2-3 tbsp. of pudding at the bottom of a clear glass. Top with one gummy worm, followed by more pudding, chocolate cookie crumbs, and 3 gummy worms.  Serve.

I decided to mix this really cool recipe up a little. I made both chocolate and pistachio pudding.  I figured the latter could count for sludge, slime, or algae.  I forgot the cocoa powder-ha-and used wine glasses instead of regular ones.   Regardless, this is the kind of recipe that you can manipulate any which way you want, so have fun with it. Maybe you can use vanilla pudding and it can be pus? Happy (early) Halloween my minions!

Mmmm slime and mud. Mmmm slime and mud. 

 

I prefer these but the filling in Oreos could look like maggot bits! I prefer these but the filling in Oreos could look like maggot bits! 
I chose Sour Neon - but take your pic.  I'd even suggest those gummies that look like body parts. I chose Sour Neon – but take your pic. I’d even suggest those gummies that look like body parts. 
I'll take the white wine glass, thanks. I’ll take the white wine glass, thanks. 

You can buy Ghoulish Goodies by Sharon Bowers here at the Kollege Kitchen webstore!


Leave a comment

Categories